The Town of New Tecumseth

  • NewTecumseth

Place Category: Community Organization and Family, Community & Civic Organizations

  • The Town of New Tecumseth was created in January 1991 and encompasses the former municipalities of the Town of Alliston, Villages of Beeton and Tottenham, and Tecumseth Township.

    Tecumseth Township

    The name Tecumseth came from a famous Shawnee Indian Chief called Tecumseh who fought and died for the British cause in 1813. A derivation of his name, Tecumseth, was given to the township on April 14, 1821 when the bill was passed in the Ontario Legislature establishing the names of the Townships that would make up Simcoe County.

    Tecumseth Township was surveyed, in part, by Gabriel Lount in 1819 and by his son, George Lount, in 1832. The first influx of settlers came in about 1820, with most settling in the southeast quarter of the township.

    Municipal government was first established in 1842 and the first town hall was erected in Penville in 1858 at the cost of $450.00. The first Reeve was Robert Cross (1850-1855) and he was selected by the Councillors and not by the popular vote.

  • No Records Found

    Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.

    Google Map Not Loaded

    Sorry, unable to load Google Maps API.

  • Leave a Review

    Your email address will not be published.